Being An Expat- A Human Condition

I have recently learnt that I am considered an “Expat”- some one who has moved overseas and started a new. There’s online groups, blogs, twitter accounts, communities,100s of articles about living aboard with all things related and brings me to the concept idea of a support network.
In turn, I go bigger and think of it as a human condition, that a dependency on fitting in somewhere, having someone to talk or relate to, some sort of supportive base is an essential! Interestingly enough we can isolate it back to primates living together for survival.

Now you may think this is extreme idea but question, why? What is it that makes us want and require so much support? What creates this a dependency upon others?
Primitive reactions, humans are merely pack animals, the odd outcast is clear but if you think about it we depend on each other for everything! Hence, we live in cities and towns, we import and export goods, and even something as petty as social media is reason for human interaction and communication.

So my experience so far as being an official ‘expat’… I made this moved in two parts technically, a two month visit as insurance it was the right decision and upon arrival it was almost instant that this was both what I wanted and where I needed to be. So one month later I was ready for the one way trip…or was I?

Well the first two weeks of actually moving overseas to live and not having purchased a return ticket made me crap my pants! (Not literally) but it didn’t register until now. I’m looking back upon that time and realising already that for the first time ever I had experienced ‘homesickness’…for all of a day!. Now, it’s mentally clicked I’m here permanently and life back home will continue yes, but I have the rare opportunity to create an entire new life abroad.

So how does one begin to make such a new life? People, bringing me back the point the humans rely on each other for survival…

Setting yourself up in a whole new country is tough, at least I had connections already here that made the transition fairly smooth. The group I train with is extremely welcoming and accepting which was a big thing as it was quite daunting coming into a tight knit group. I now feel apart of it.
For those expats out there that move for work or to somewhere random, that has to be hard!

After a period of time, you begin to get a routine of your comings and goings which allows you the chance to explore your new neighbourhood. Finding the groovy cafe, best clothes store, the right hair dresser and of course the coldest beer at the nearest local is all apart of adapting to your new surroundings. It’s been a few months now and I’ve managed to get a fairly regular routine with a good grasp on what’s nearby. The hardest part was finding a cafe that made a ‘real’ Chai Latte!

With things changing in seasons for squash and requiring some outside of the sport-bubble social life I decided to job search! Turned out to be a perfect time to look as it seemed the entire city was hiring in preparation for summer/tourist season! I picked up a part time job as a waitress/bar tender and it’s been one if the most positive additions to my life here. Gives me variety in my week with a totally different social outlet and a way to meet new people plus the bonus of earning some dough!

There’s still room to expand my life base here, finding activities and events to get involved in is all part of the process. By now I’m feeling like I have my life pretty well set up here in Edinburgh and I’m proud to have made the bold decision of moving around the globe by myself to follow my dream. Looking ahead it’s only going to feel more normal here but I know one things is for sure, I’ll never have a regret.

& That’s My Athletes Mind…